"Maybe our favorite quotations say more about us than about
the stories and people we're quoting."

~ John Green

Sunday, August 31, 2014

No Doubt

No doubt but ye are the people, and wisdom shall die with you.

~ Job

Source: The Pen of a Ready Writer > 2014 > August > Liebster Award from Jessie || The King James Bible > Job 12:2

Saturday, August 30, 2014

What We Really Are

The reality of what we really are is often times found in the small snips, way down at the bottom or things.

~ Jean Shepherd

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Saturday, 26 July 2014

Friday, August 29, 2014

Good vs. Evil

You're going to lose. I know that now. Good will always win.

~ Snow White [to the Evil Queen]

Once Upon a Time > season one > episode #1 "Pilot"
Source: Scribblings of a Catholic Girl > 2014 > August > The Liebster Award...Again.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Books and People

You are the same today as you’ll be in five years except for two things: the books you read and the people you meet.
Charlie Tremendous Jones

Source: Puritan Observer > 2014 > August > Liebster Award || Google search > Michael Hyatt

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Why She Writes

Why does one begin to write? Because she feels misunderstood, I guess. Because it never comes out clearly enough when she tries to speak. Because she wants to rephrase the world, to take it in and give it back again differently, so that everything is used and nothing is lost. Because it is something to do to pass the time until she is old enough to experience the things she writes about.

~ Nicole Krauss

Source: Books and Etc. > 2014 > August > Liebster Award

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Intolerably Stupid

The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel must be intolerably stupid.

~ Jane Austen

Source: Books and Etc. > 2014 > August > Liebster Award

Monday, August 25, 2014

To Breathe Free

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free.

~ Emma Lazarus

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Off With His Head

Why should this dead dog curse my lord the king? let me go over, I pray thee, and take off his head.

~ Abishai

Source: The Pen of a Ready Writer > 2014 > August > Liebster Award from Jessie || The King James Bible > II Samuel 16:9

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Miserably Comfortable

Money can't buy happiness, but it can make you awfully comfortable while you're being miserable.

~ Clare Boothe Luce

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Monday, 10 March 2014

Friday, August 22, 2014


I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow; but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.

~ Agatha Christie

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Friday, 8 August 2014

Thursday, August 21, 2014

A Tough Question

I don't think a tough question is disrespectful.

~ Helen Thomas

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Sunday, 20 July 2014

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Opportunity to Improvise

Only someone who is well prepared has to opportunity to improvise.

~ Ingmar Bergman

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Monday, 14 July 2014

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Free and Strong

I feel free and strong. If I were not a reader of books I could not feel this way.

~ Walter Tevis

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Saturday, 9 August 2014

Monday, August 18, 2014


Cynicism is what passes for insight among the mediocre.

~ Joe Klein

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Thursday, 17 July 2014

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Turned the World Upside Down

And when they found them not, they drew Jason and certain brethren unto the rulers of the city, saying, These that have turned the world upside down are come hither also; whom Jason hath received: and these all do contrary to the decrees of Caesar, saying that there is another king, one Jesus.

~ certain men in Thessolonica

Source: The Pen of a Ready Writer > 2014 > August > Liebster Award from Jessie || The King James Bible > Acts 17:6-7

Saturday, August 16, 2014

So Great a Thing

The breaking of so great a thing should make
A greater crack: the round world
Should have shook lions into civil streets,
And citizens to their dens.

~ William Shakespeare

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Friday, August 15, 2014

Magnificently Simple

Like all magnificent things, it's very simple.

~ Natalie Babbitt

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Monday, 28 July 2014

Thursday, August 14, 2014


The world spins. We stumble on. It is enough.

~ Colum McCann

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Thursday, 7 August 2014

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

When I Am Dead

When I am dead, I hope it may be said: "His sins were scarlet, but his books were read."

~Hilaire Belloc

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Sunday, 27 July 2014

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

A Whole Lot of Yesterday

It's amazing how a little tomorrow can make up for a whole lot of yesterday.

~ John Guare

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Wednesday, 5 February 2014

Monday, August 11, 2014

Always Imitated

Children have never been very good at listening to their elders, but they have never failed to imitate them.

~ James Baldwin

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Saturday, 2 August 2014

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Wait On the LORD

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.

~King David

Source: The King James Bible > Psalm 27:14

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Always Watched

Remember...there is always a little girl in the stands that wants to be just like you, don't disappoint her.

~ Unknown

Source: The Best Sports Quotes > boardofwisdom.com > quote #19

Friday, August 8, 2014

Lucky Underpants

You know, Hobbes, some days even my lucky rocket ship underpants don't help.

~ Bill Watterson

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Saturday, 5 July 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014


This is where it all begins. Everything starts here, today.

~ David Nicholls

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Perception and Memory

Every act of perception is to some degree an act of creation, and every act of memory is to some degree an act of imagination.

~ Oliver Sacks

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Wednesday, 9 July 2014

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Stationary Travels

That's the thing about books. They let you travel without moving your feet.

~ Jhumpa Lahiri

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Friday, 11 July 2014

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Piercing Discernment

For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

~ Anonymous

Source: The King James Bible > Hebrews 4:12

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Gave It All

After each game, I want to be able to say: I gave it all I could, I gave it my best.

~ Unknown

Source: The Best Sports Quotes > boardofwisdom.com > quote #19

Friday, August 1, 2014

Holmes On Horses

Sherlock Holmes "Uh, hmm... Right. Where are the wagons?"
Madam Simza Heron "The wagon is too slow. Can't you ride?"
Dr. John Watson "It's not that he can't ride... How is it you put it, Holmes?"
Sherlock Holmes "They're dangerous at both ends and... crafty in the middle. Why would I want anything with a mind of its own bobbing about between my legs?"

Source: Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Real Life

"I have come to the conclusion that the smattered references I heard throughout my youth were remarks filled with nothing but jealousy. There comes a time for most people when they shoulder a load too heavy for them to bear. And as they trudge through life, watching everyone hiking up their skirts and scaling the corporate ladder and heading straight to the presidency, everything looks grim. Is it any surprise that when they see a poor, helpless, nubile young child innocently playing as carefree as can be, that they are jealous? Envious of childish bliss and with vivid remembrances of their own bright and sunny past they cast a churlish remark the kids' way.

"But is that real life? Giving the little punk a 'wake up call?' A 'Get with the program?' And 'Earth to Jimmy' ought to do it.... No.

"No, I'll tell you what real life is. Real life is right now. You reading this post. It is you cooking dinner for your kids, be there 2, 8 or eighty. It's finding someone unique in the universe, someone who is perfect for you. It is having your feet knocked out from under you, and feeling a cold barrel pressed against your neck. It's staring down your best friend in the midst of a heated argument, and gripping them in a tight hug afterwards.

"Real life is.... Life. It occurs every second, and while you sleep. All around us buildings shoot up tot he heavens and burn to the ground. Snow whirls and Tsunamis destroy whole cities. Marriages occur every day, and twice as many murders. This world in one giant sphere of love and war, beauty and hate. Nothing we can do will change that. But we can sit back, work hard and love, all the while enjoying every moment of


Source: Revelations > 2013 > September > Philosophy: Real Life

Wednesday, July 30, 2014


"We are surrounded by story."

~ Alice McDermott

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Friday, 27 June 2014

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Trying Times

"These are the times that try men's souls."

~ Thomas Paine

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Friday, 10 January 2014

Monday, July 28, 2014

Colors of Redemption

"Heaven above is softer blue,
Earth around is sweeter green!
Something lives in every hue
Christless eyes have never seen:
Birds with gladder songs o'erflow,
Flowers with deeper beauties shine,
Since I know, as now I know,
I am His, and He is mine."

~ George Wade Robinson

Source: Bible Truth Hymns > 618

Sunday, July 27, 2014

The Light of Life

"Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life."

~ Jesus

Source: The King James Bible > John 8:12

Saturday, July 26, 2014

Ungrateful Wretch

"The belly is an ungrateful wretch, it never remembers past favors, it always wants more tomorrow."

~ Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Source: Goodreads QOTD for Wednesday, 11 December 2013